Temple of Literature (Van Mieu) was built in 1070 during Emperor Ly Thanh Tong to honor scholars and literary men, and was dedicated to Khong Tu (Confucius). In 1070, the Royal College (Quoc Tu Giam), Vietnam’s first university, was founded here to educate the children of court mandarins, which remained until 1802 when the national university was moved to the new capital, Hue. Here is the entrance gate to temple complex, which reserved for the royalties.
Khuc Van Cac open pavilion which provides space for study and leisure.
Thien Quang Tinh pond and after it, Dai Thanh (Great Success or Synthesis) Gate, which leads into the temple precinct. The flag with 5 colours which each represents an element of the nature: metal, wood, water, fire and earth.
One of the 82 Tortoise Stelae which recorded names, birth places and achievements of the 1306 successful triennial examination candidates. All of them was erected between 1442 and 1778. The Tortoise Stelae pavilions are on both sides of the pond.
Rafters in the main temple sanctuary were constructed without nails or screws. It’s interesting to note also how the building overhanging eaves help to keep these buildings cool; large doorways are also important in cooling the buildings. In the winter, when it is cold in Hanoi, the sun is lower and heats the inside.
Entrance fee to the Temple of Literature: VND 5,000.